Writing One Page at aTime

Kasey Hill – Author & Poet

A Cautionary Tale: The Conclusion of My Publication Contract

thealchemyofwords

Black-Rose-Flower-Wallpaper-Free1

Nine months ago, I wrote a post about my unconventional journey to a publishing contract. Almost exactly a year from the time the publisher first contacted me, I received an email terminating that contract. I would say that I was blindsided except for a gut feeling I’d developed a few weeks prior to the email.

I used to think the hardest part was finishing a manuscript, but everyone who has done that knows to offer a patronizing nod because things only get tougher. Then it seemed the hardest–and perhaps impossible–part would be signing a publishing contract. Once that was done, I felt like I’d made it. It was all very exciting for a while, but somewhere along the last nine months, it got less and less exciting. The last few months I had to force my enthusiasm as I hoped for the best–and that best case scenario would be that…

View original post 785 more words

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on June 27, 2016 by in Writing.
